jump to navigation

The simple answer to disappointment! July 16, 2005

Posted by roopster in Bible, Christianity, church, faith, Jesus, Religion, spirituality, Theology.
trackback

I love reading the teachings of Jesus I am compiling (ever so slowly) on another blog. I wish the teachings found there was a part of a consistent message throughout the gospels. However, the sad truth is- it is not. I have chosen to believe that this was the primary message that Jesus preached, and that it was later re-wrapped with the old traditions Jesus was trying to break. Of course, there’s no way to really know. Whatever we believe, we do have to accept it by faith. If you choose to believe that the gospels are 100% accurate, you would also have to accept it by faith. Of course, in my opinion, you would be choosing to believe many inconsistencies.

The angels promised that the birth of Jesus heralded “Peace on Earth.” In the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus said “Happy are those who work for peace.” Yet, in Matthew 10, these words, attributed to Jesus, are recorded:

Don’t imagine that I came to bring peace to the earth! No, I came to bring a sword. I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law.

What? These types of verses totally shoot down my theory that Jesus came preaching a message of peace, love, compassion, and mercy. There are those who make the case that this was the real message of Christ. And, of course, there are those who choose to accept the contradictions as consistent.

However, I choose to see the message of peace. I choose to read the Old Testament and focus in on verses as Micah 6:8

No, O people, the Lord has already told you what is good, and this is what he requires; to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.

In the end, I know I’m committing the cardinal sin of proper Biblical scholarship. I know I’m choosing what to accept and what to “discard”. I know that my beliefs will not stand up to the scrutiny of Fundamental Christianity of which I am a student. Hell, I’ve even thrown my cap at the graduating ceremony of a popular charismatic Bible College while reveling in my 4.0 GPA.

That life is all but a distant memory now. My faith has boiled down to a few simple truths that I choose to believe. I now attempt to live my life by a few guidelines that I feel are in line with the wishes of my creator. Who am I to determine these things? No one in particular. However, since I believe that my faith is personal and between my creator and I, it works for me.

Comments»

1. Denes de Sainte-Claire (Baron Del) - May 4, 2005

“I have chosen to believe …”

A simple, yet powerful phrase. This is the statement of faith that once believed propels you from a mediocre life, to a one filled with possibilities.

“…do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly…”

Doesn’t that “feel” right? Look at nature, and the harmonious relationships that exist there. There’s an unexplainable balance, a harmony that is truly only disrupted by the intervention of mankind. Maybe our own spiritual connection is one to be in harmony with God (or whatever life-giving force you believe). To do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly just feels right. It seems like a part of a natural, harmonious relationship with God.

Could a conscience be no more than the alarm of warning for when we move out of harmony? What did Jesus preach? How to live in harmony. Don’t you really see this in the root of all religions?

2. Roopster - May 4, 2005

BD,

You are correct. My beliefs that one should live a life in harmony with creation (respecting life and nature) just seems right. To choose to respect others, to walk in mercy, kindness, compassion and to assist others when possible just simply resonates with me. Of course we do not always live by our convictions but patterning my life after these few principles comes with much contentment and a freedom that I’ve never experienced before trying to dot the i’s and cross the t’s of fundamental christianity.

Paul

3. Monk-in-Training - May 5, 2005

Roopster,
Jesus’ message echoed that found in the most ancient part of the Torah, Leviticus. Here when we look past all the rules we see a God telling a barbaric people in a barbaric culture to love their neighbor as themselves, and to give consideration to widows and orphans, normally outcasts.

I think your previous post not only captures the main teachings of our Lord, but also the main teachings of the entire Bible, Hebrew and Christian.

On a side note, I am writhing with curiosity about which particular Charistmatic college you went to! 😉
If you like you can just email me, I would like to discuss it with you.

4. Roopster - May 5, 2005

M.I.T.,
I attended Rhema in Tulsa, OK. Check out this other blog that I started for ExWOFers

Email me at Roopster[at]gmail.com and I’d love to discuss this further with you

Paul

5. Roopster - May 5, 2005

M.I.T.,
BTW, if you have a good list of scriptures from the O.T. that are in line with Jesus’ teachings per our discussions, please post them here or on your blog so I can reference them. I’ve been compiling a similiar list.
Paul

6. hibernus - July 17, 2007

its worth listening….
thanx’

7. carlton figg - November 11, 2007

Some of the scriptures have not been translated with any amount of accuracy. For instance, when the birth of Jesus was heralded with the promise: “Peace on Earth”, I doubt that it meant peace among men. Rather, it meant that the war between heaven and earth was over — and hence God’s peace was being offered to earth in the form of the Saviour. Yes, I believe you may describe Jesus as a peace offering from God. Prior to that, God was not pleased with mankind and we stood condemned to damnation without any hope of salvation.

Again, when Jesus said He had not come to bring peace to the earth He was, in fact, referring to the violence and bloodshed that would be systematically carried out in His name. There were believers and there were non-believers. Let’s say that a believer (a son) invites the wrath of his father (non-believer). And that is what happened through the centuries. When Jesus spoke those words, He was in fact cautioning us — it’s in that light that we must read that chapter and verse from Mathew.

And yes, like Roopster, I too believe in reading the Bible the way I feel it ought to be read. I too will not depend on some other mortal (annointed or whatever) to interpret God’s word for me.

8. Robert - December 29, 2007

Thanks carlton figg for reminding us that the gospel really is bad news.

9. Carlton Figg - January 9, 2008

Robert, a lot depends on what interpretation you give to “bad news”. I will not go out on a limb and say it’s all bad. Much of it is good — very good, in fact. Take the message of “salvation”, for instance. Can you think of any better news ? I cannot — not unless we go about the place talking about an after-life “in the body”. I mean, this physical form of mine is NOT going to experience an after-life. But my spirit will, and so will yours. The good news is that your spirit can ascend into heaven and be with God for all eternity. The bad news (if you read the Bible as it ought to be read) is that your body as you know it will rot in its grave forever and ever, amen. This is made very evident in 1 Corrintheans 15:42 where Paul goes to great lengths to explain why mortal bodies cannot enter heaven. Read also 1 Peter 3:18 where it is clearly laid down that Jesus was killed in “the flesh” and raised in “the spirit”.

And no, this is not what our clergymen teach us. And they have their reasons, as well as agendas. Would you, for instance, be overly interested on being told that the physical form you love so well is slated to die and stay dead for all time to come ? The early Christian leaders understood that permanent physical death would have been “bad news” for their followers. So they thought up this theory of the “resurrection of the body”. And hey presto ! They had a fan club !

Yup, Robert, the Gospels can be both good and bad news — depending on which side of the fence you sit. But before I say “cheerio”, I suggest that you read the Bible as any person would read a good book. Don’t depend on “interpretations” — leave that to the dumbos and the illiterate !


Leave a Reply

